Our 1st home,….sort of.

Everyone looks forward to their first place to live.  I have enjoyed my apartments and moves as a single gal in Dallas.  Each apartment was different and added a new view on life.  And now, it’s time for that 1st place for Robby and me as a married couple.    Which means……..

GOODBYE, Dallas, my city and my home for 10 years!    I will miss you!

AND………

HELLO WEST TEXAS!    

For the moment, there is hardly any housing to be found.  There has been an “oil boom” in the past year and everyone is moving to Midland/Odessa for work.  Though it’s great for the economy, and all the restaraunts that I enjoy from Dallas are building out West, there are NO homes available!  To get into an apartment, we would be on a waiting list for 4-6 months, if not more.  What about renting a home you say?   Nope.  Why would people rent their home when they could sell it for more than they bought it in less than 2 days on the market?    If we were to find one for rent, the rent is outrageous!    Some homes are going for $4,000/month, if not more!  CRAZY times outs here.  Which leads us to…….

Question:  What are we to do as newly with a very tiny budget??

Answer:  We move in with Robby’s grandfather, Daddy Jim!  (We’re so thankful that we have family out here to help us out.  What would we do without family?!)

It’s not what we ever dreamed of as our first home, but it’s more space than we could ever have imagined!  OH!  AND it’s nice to be in a home, not an apartment.  (I just realized I haven’t lived in a home in 10 years!  WOW!   Sure is nice to have a driveway and not have to search for parking at an apartment.)  One of my favorite things about the house….the closet!  I have so much space for my shoes!  Now that makes me a happy lady.

Here are a few pictures of Daddy Jim’s home.  Not sure how long we will be here, but we’re enjoying it so far!   Each room is a “blast from the past” and makes me giggle when I see the carpet and wall paper each morning.  But it’s fun and makes me feel like I’m living in a time warp.

It was right about this point in taking pictures this morning that I thought to my self, “Self, you should go outside and take some pictures of the back yard.”   So outdoors I went, barefoot, glasses on, in my fuzzy pink bathrobe.  And LOCKED MYSELF OUT OF THE HOUSE!!!!   My cell phone was inside, everyone was at work.  Just me and the dog, Lil’ Bit, in the back yard.   What was I to do?  Climb the fence and introduce myself to my new neighbors in my bathrobe?  Wait in the backyard and hope someone came home for lunch???   Thankfully I remembered the code to the garage and was able to get back inside.   You better believe that I will remember that the back door locks automatically behind you!     After that, I had a few more pictures of our new home.   Thought you might enjoy my lil’ excursion in my bathrobe and glases.

Check out the laundry room cabinets!   That’s right, TONS of color in there!   I like all of the different shapes and sizes to the drawers and doors.  Makes it easy to find a space for everything.  It’s just gotta fit somewhere, right?!?!

Then there’s the “Blue” room and indoor hot tub!   Can’t wait to use that this winter!

For the most part, that’s our new home.  There’s a few other rooms  (formal living/dining room, extra bedrooms, pantry,etc…) but I figured you might be bored by this point.

So thanks for touring our first home with us.  If we get to remodel/update the house one day, these pictures will be great with before and after shots.   Until then, I’ll keep living in my time warp.  I mean….who doesn’t  love bright orange and black in their bathroom!?!?!   That’s what I thought.

6 thoughts on “Our 1st home,….sort of.

  1. I love the bathroom!! It was kind of cool. Now the laundry room reminded me of a Tide detergent bottle. Lol.
    Classic Ali story!! Lol lol.

  2. Looks great! That laundry room is tons of fun.

    Meeting the neighbors that way would have been a really great story. Sometimes you’ve got to sacrifice to get good stories!

  3. Glad you have such a good memory child! I totally dig the laundry room. It has exact matches of laundry product containers they blend right in. Green carpet in the bedroom is the best. Why, it’s like stepping into fresh grass every time you get out of bed. 🙂

  4. Loved looking at your first home. It may be a time warp but It sure is a lot better than Wally and I had for our first home together. It is oh so much bigger too! Enjoy your new life together and count your blessing.

Leave a Reply

