Tall City Blues Fest 2012

Some days, you just need to listen to the blues.  I’ve never been a huge fan of BB King, but completely appreciate his musical art. My heart leans more towards the likings of Stevie Ray Vaughan and Jonny Lang.  I’ll never forget the first time that I heard Jonny Lang on the radio while I was riding in the car with my oldest brother.  Something about the wail of the guitar, the pulse of the song…..it spoke to my heart!

I never expected to find blues music in Midland, Texas BUT I DID!  The Tall City Blues Fest was advertised around town and  caught my attention.  Storms blew through a few hours before hand, bringing about a nice chill and breeze to the opening night.  Tents and tables were set up in the streets and the music filled the downtown area when we got there.

Robby was SUPER excited for the crawfish/shrimp boil.

I have to admit, not nearly as good as our favorite place (The Boiling Pot) but it wasn’t bad.  My sister-in-law, Jenny, has perfected the crawfish boil while in Minnesota (impressive, right?!  I didn’t know they had crawfish up there!).  Her tip, only use half of the seasoning in the boil, then use the other half for tossing with the crawfish after you pull it out of the water.  It adds more of a kick and ensures that the spice is not lost in the drained water!   Thanks, Jenn!

The music was terrific!   More of a zydeco feel and oh so much fun to dance to.  My wonderful husband twirled me around in the street while we listened.

Everything is more fun with friends, and the Tall City Blues Fest was great with this group!

Can’t wait for next year when we can do it again!!

One thought on “Tall City Blues Fest 2012

  1. Sounds like a blast. I asked Zeke for Sirus radio for Christmas last year, and since then the station in my car and at home is mostly set to Bluesville. It’s just good for what ails you. Didn’t realize you are a blues fan. Now I think you are cooler than I already knew you were. Makes sense, right? Love the life you are carving out for yourself.

Leave a Reply

