Bountiful Baskets!

A friend recently told me about Bountiful Baskets.  You pre-order your basket of fresh produce at the beginning of the week and then pick it up at a given time on Saturday morning.  It was only $15 for ALL of the produce!  AND, but wait…it gets better, you can also get home made bread, granola, and local honey!!!!    I was curious so I participated this past week and look at all the food I got!

Bountiful Baskets

fresh produce from Bountiful Baskets

So once I got all the produce sorted out, I needed to cook with everything.  It felt a bit like Iron Chef.  You get your basket, not sure what items you are getting, and then get to plan recipes based on those ingredients.   Robby enjoys hunting, and I’m trying to clean out the freezer with last year’s venison, so I used that to make some delish meals.  Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:  meat loaf, venison chili, venison picadillo, mock mashed potatoes with cauliflower, roasted brussel sprouts, pluot jam (if you haven’t had a Pluot, you need to!  They’re pretty good!), and brown-sugar cherry cakes!    And now a few pictures of the yummies!

Venison Picadillo

Brown-Sugar Cherry Cakes before they were baked.

Brown-Sugar Cherry Cake after baking. YUMMY!

Fresh cherries. Are they so pretty!

Pluot Jam

It was ALL so good and worth the 10+ hours of cooking I did in the kitchen in 24 hours.  My husband was so nice and even fell asleep at the kitchen table so I wouldn’t be alone in the kitchen.  Isn’t he so sweet!?!  I have an incriminating picture of him passed out, but I promised not to release it to the public just yet.

 

3 thoughts on “Bountiful Baskets!

  1. YUM! Those brown sugar cherry cakes look amazing! I wish I could remember how to do jam because I would love to try this as well!!

    • I wish my grandmothers had taught me how to make their jams and such. I found this recipe online and it turned out wonderfully! Don’t be afraid to try, it was so much easier than I thought.

  2. Pingback: My Single Saturdays Revisited | Life with the Rigneys

Leave a Reply

