Bathroom Remodel – UPDATE!

Many people have asked how the bathroom update is going.  The answer,….it’s going!  There have been a few hiccups here and there, but for a first time DIYer, and attempting this alone, I think it’s going pretty well.

Just to refresh your memory, here are pictures of the bathroom before the remodel started.

Taking down the wall paper was a pain in the rear.  How was I to know the dry wall was so old that it had changed colors and would start to peel off?   Still, I powered through and got it taken care of.   There were definitely some moments when I considered quitting and calling the pros to come and save me.  But no!  I was determined to finish this out.  (Plus we don’t have the money to pay anyone to finish this, so I’m sort of stuck.)

Just taking down the wall paper made a HUGE difference.  It was dark before hand and had little natural light.  Check out what it was like without the wall paper:

The next step was to texture and prime.   I’m not a fan of texturing walls in general, but I understand why it must be done.  So I applied a gentle and subtle texture, primed the walls, and this is what it looks like now!

Now I’m working on painting the walls with the great new color!   I’ve already sewn the new curtains and I’m looking for a few new pieces of art to go on the wall, just a basic look to add to the space.   The next post on the bathroom remodel will show the final product.  Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

