Day #3 – I’m tired!

So that burst of motivation I had last night kicked my tail this morning.  I’m exhausted!  Perhaps I should not have stayed up till 1:30am decorating the house for Christmas.  I was on a roll, though, and I seem to do better on projects like that late at night.  I regret the not-enough-sleep thing this morning, but I LOVE my entry-way and how the fireplace looks now.  Still….very tired, though.   I begrudgingly dragged myself out of bed, late from snoozing through an entire hour of alarms, and got dressed for the day.  Yep, it’s a glasses and pony-tail kind of day.  (Ladies, you know what I mean.)

I got to the kitchen and tried to be inspired.  I thought to myself, “Self, what can I do for lunch that will be a variety of nutrition but will not make Robby give me that blank stare when I tell him what he’s eating during the day???”  HELP!   I grabbed the left over fish from Monday night, shredded it a bit and used it to make a fish taco!  On top of the fish was added a small amount of avocado, salsa, and romaine lettuce.  It looked good to me, so I wrapped it up and packed it in the lunch box.  Next, to add something crunchy in place of chips, I sliced cucumbers.  I added some humus to my cucumbers, but Robby has a strong disliking towards humus so I spared him this time.  A few carrots and an orange were packed away as afternoon snacks.

Fruit Salad

Fruit Salad

A fruit salad (raspberries, blue berries, black berries, strawberries, bananas, and apples) was packed as a nice snack.  Raspberries and blackberries have a great amount of fiber in them so this aids in the process of getting your digestion system moving. (*TIP* if you slice and dice all the fruit the night before, store it in the fridge, then stir in the morning, there’s no need for any sugar or toppings.  It will be naturally sweet and the juices from the fruit will mix well.  Don’t add oranges until you are ready to eat, as they tend to have a bitter/sour taste after sitting for a while.)

Robby came to the kitchen at that time and helped by getting our fiber drinks and meal replacement shakes ready.  I don’t know what we would do without our blender on this cleanse!  A magic bullet, or anything like that, just makes breakfast so much easier.  A little ice, water, meal replacement powder, and you’re done!   Last time I tried just pouring the powder into a water bottle and shaking it.  It turned out clumpy and difficult to drink.  The blender is perfect for mixing it up in just a few seconds.  We switched back to the peaches-n-cream fiber drink (sooo much better than yesterday!) and downed our water before heading out the door for work.

Lunch was good!  At least, I thought so until I pulled out my carrots.  For some reason last night I thought that perhaps if I froze a few baby carrots then they would serve as ice cubes for the lunch box and keep it chilled throughout the day as well as a great snack.    BAD IDEA!   When I pulled them out at lunch, anticipating a delicious carrot to dip in humus, I was quite disappointed.  It was mushy and still quite frozen in the middle.  BLEH!   So lesson learned:  don’t use frozen carrots to keep your lunch cold if you intend to eat the carrots.

Mid-afternoon I took a short break from work to read some blogs I follow.  And of course, I start reading about what they’re cooking, and then I click on the links for the recipes, and before I know it I’m dreaming of making Eggnog Streusel Muffins and Puppy Chow with a twist.   What was I thinking?!?!  I’m on a cleanse and tempting myself just by window shopping at recipes.   I drank yet another glass of water and got back to work.  But, ohhhh, those recipes will be made in 8 days!

Great workout tonight!  I took a Zumba class at the gym, which always makes me laugh more than sweat.  Don’t get me wrong, I sweat a LOT in that class.  What gets to me is how funny it is trying to catch on to the dance moves!  I’m all over the place trying to keep up, but it’s a good workout and lots of fun.

Dinner tonight was pretty good.  Grilled chicken breast, sauteed zucchini and onions (who knew!  I like sauteed onions now!  i must be growing up.) and quinoa.  It was filling and flavorful, so it did the trick for us.

Grilled chicken, sauteed zucchini, and quinoa.

Grilled chicken, sauteed zucchini, and quinoa.

Now, to bed we go!  So tired and ready for Day #4!

Leave a Reply

