Advocare Cleanse – Day #9 – View from the other side

Guest Post by Robby

Howdy all,

So my lovely wife has asked me to regale you with the tales of what this cleanse has meant to me. Seeing as she is my lovely wife, I was more than happy to oblige.

First off, you might be asking yourself how Alison convinced me to partake in this 10 Day Advocare Cleanse. Well to find the answer we need to go back to the height of football season. On one of our weekends down in College Station I might have over-indulged myself on frosty libations and BBQ which led to a not too pleasant drive home on the Sunday after the football game. During one of these drives, Past Robby (Yes that is what I refer to him as) made the comment to Past Alison that his body hated him and that he was a glutton for punishment. Past Alison responded by saying, “What are you going to do about it?” This is when Past Robby made the statement that Present Robby hates him for; “Babe, why don’t we try and do the Advocare 10 Day Cleanse again in between the regular season and the bowl game?” Alison was all too happy to agree.

So last Monday after enjoying a weekend of whiskey, Boiling Pot, and steak, I reluctantly started the cleanse with my beautiful bride. The first day was rough. I think for me, it’s not that I want to eat unhealthy, it’s the realization that I can’t eat what I want. I like to eat red meat, cheese, and bread. Three things that are strictly forbidden on the Cleanse. Also being from West Texas, Tex-Mex is a staple in most everyone’s diet. Another cuisine that is not allowed on the Cleanse. So for me the not being able to eat what I want has been the hardest part. Although it has been easier these past few days.

My hat goes off to my wonderful wife who has done her absolute best to keep the meals tasty and varied. I’m sure y’all have seen the different dinners we had the past 9 days and to be honest save for 1 or 2, I wouldn’t be opposed to eating them again. (Sidenote: To all you single guys out there, find a girl that can cook. It is so worth it.) Tonight’s meal was a definite keeper. We (and I say “we” very loosely as my wife did the majority of the cooking. She calls me her sous chef which I think is a fancy way of saying someone who cuts and dices the veggies and washes the dishes but actually does very little with the cooking of the meal) had a baked salmon with a lemon garnish, black bean quinoa (had no idea what this was before we started. I’ll give it a ‘B’ as something I’d eat outside of the cleanse), baked asparagus, and baked brussel sprouts. I’ve found that I quite enjoy brussel sprouts which is a complete 180 from what I thought of them less than a year ago. Until recently, I’d always had a stigma against them. However, they are quickly becoming one of my favorite vegetables. I’m talking right up there with asparagus and broccoli.

So like I said, Alison has been great at mixing up the food we eat so that we don’t get tired of certain things. Lunch has been somewhat of a chore becuase there are only so many things you can stuff in a lunch box. I’ve eaten turkey sandwiches, tuna salad, and fish tacos. The constants have been some kind of fruit salad and vegetable medley.

I’m not going to miss my lunches once the cleanse is over. In fact, I’ve already planned my lunch for Thursday. I’ll be eating at my favorite burrito place, Garcia’s. Garcia’s is a literal hole in the wall joint near downtown Midland that serves homemade burritos that on good days will make your eyes water from the spice. I can’t get enough of it though. I’ve been craving it since last Monday when we started the Cleanse.

All in all, I’m glad that Past Robby made the foolish mistake of offering to do a cleanse. I know that Future Robby appreciates it and honestly, Present Robby has enjoyed “helping” his wife cook meals that are both healthy and tasty.

Till next time,

Robby

BTHO OU!

One thought on “Advocare Cleanse – Day #9 – View from the other side

  1. Pingback: WE’RE DONE!! AdvoCare Cleanse – Day #10 | Life with the Rigneys

Leave a Reply

