In the meantime….

Do you ever get the feeling that you are way too busy and just need a break, only to sit down and look at your schedule and realize there’s really not that much going on?    That’s where I’m at today.   I feel like I’ve been running a marathon, but really….it’s been pretty calm around here.

In the meantime, to keep up with my skills and joy of teaching, I tutor 3 days each week after school with a non-profit, Kaleidoscope Ministries.    I have seen major progress in each of my students!   Here’s a few pictures of our work.  The kids LOVE using dry-erase markers, so I let them write on the windows and glass table tops.  It’s the simple things that get them excited and ready to learn!

2012-11-12 16.37.54-1 2012-11-12 16.38.07 It’s been such a great change to go from teaching 29 kiddos in one room to tutoring one-on-one.  I think this non-profit has the right idea in providing not only help in academics but mentors to the kids at early ages.  I see character building and self confidence improving in all of my students throughout this year.   Tutoring them makes me reconsider going back to the classroom!  Hmmmm…..

In the meantime, I haven’t been able to cook very much.  How does life get in the way of that?!?!   I had such a great joy getting to cook last night.  It’s relaxing.  It’s rejuvinating.  It’s rewarding!   I’m sure you’re saying, “Yeah, right.  Cooking is NONE of those things to me!”  Trust me, my husband doesn’t understand it, but he let’s me do it anyway (plus he gets to enjoy the food!).   Last night’s menu, lemon dill salmon on a bed of sauteed spinach accompanied by a wild rice mushroom pilaf.  Amazingly, all of this was on the Advocare diet….which I didn’t mention until we were already in the middle of the meal.  Didn’t want to ruin the goodness of it with the fact that it was really healthy!

2013-02-12 19.35.51

In the meantime, it was FAT TUESDAY!   Now, you realize I live  in a desert….sort of.   MILES away from water, mudbugs/crawfish, shrimp, and all that wonderfully crazy Cajun mess.  Finding cajun food out here is like finding Lindsay Lohan in rehab:  unlikely these days….but it just might happen!    I was surprised to see just a few King’s Cakes at the grocery store, so I snagged one for desert.  Sadly enough, it didn’t taste anything like the real deal.  (I don’t think the grocery store bakery knows what a King’s Cake really is, but at least they tried!)   Robby wasn’t impressed, but I’ll eat just about anything if it’s got frosting on it!

Fat Tuesday Delight!

Fat Tuesday Delight!

 

In the meantime, I had a migraine the size of Alaska on Sunday morning.  Ugghhh, migraines are the WORST!  I haven’t had one in months, and thought I was doing pretty good with diet and exercise.  Then, bring on the whopper!   Jenny gave me this fantastic eye mask from Massage Envy for Christmas. You can freeze it or heat it up.  IT WAS WONDERFUL!   I am forever in debt to Jenny for getting me this. It really helped relieve the pain and help me relax during the 3 hours of misery.  If you suffer from migraines, GO GET THIS!

Massage Envy Eye mask

Massage Envy Eye mask

 

And now, back to work!  I would blog about how I’m tracking oil wells’ production and interest in West Texas, but I don’t think anyone is interested in that.  I’ll spare you this time.   You’re welcome.

2 thoughts on “In the meantime….

  1. Kathy got a King Cake from the grocery and discribed it more like 2 sugar cookies w/white frosting in between and some colored sugar on top. She was disappointed. Maybe next year she & I can plan ahead and make some REAL ones.

Leave a Reply

