#6 – My College, DBU!

College – “it was the best years of my life” Pat Green & Brad Paisley

I LOVED COLLEGE!   It amazes me when high school students are not interested in going to college.  They have no idea what memories and experiences they are missing out on!   I know I was completely clueless to how God would grow me both academically and socially in college.  In my last post, I showed you my #5 – my college girlfriends.  They played a huge part of my college experience.  However, my actual college was how God shaped and molded me into the professional I am today.  Dallas Baptist University was, and still is, a crucial part of my day-to-day in the classroom teaching.

#6-Dallas Baptist University

Jeremiah 29:11 – “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord.  “Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

This Bible verse is forever written upon my heart.  It is the verse that my university stands on, one that you will see everywhere on campus and hear in classes and at chapel.  It is a verse that gives comfort and guidance.

My college story:   My heart was set on going to Texas A&M.  I don’t know why, but I wanted to me an Aggie!  I loved the traditions, the atmosphere, and my best friend in high school was going there.  What more could I ask for?   God had different plans, though.  While walking into a football game at A&M my senior year of high school, I said a little prayer in my heart.  “God, going here is going to be so cool!  I can’t wait to be here!”   I heard Him so clearly say, “No, not A&M” that you would have thought He was on a loud speaker.  People always look skeptical when I tell them that, but it was true.   One way I knew it was God telling me no was that I had a peace about not going there.  It was not a let down, or dreams crushed, but a change in direction.  And so, I started wondering where He would lead me.  In a very random way, but oh-so-divine-planned-out, Dallas Baptist called me one Saturday afternoon out of the blue and ask if I would be attending in the fall.  I had no money to pay for college, and my family couldn’t afford a private school, so I was at a loss on how I could afford DBU.   I knew it had to be a God-thing when they told me that I had scholarships to pay for me entire 1st year there.  WOW!   How could I say no to the Lord completely opening the gates for me to walk right through?    So I packed up and went to DBU!  He continued to provide for me the entire 4 years, through jobs and scholarships, I was covered.

DBU taught me what it looks like and what it means to be a servant leader.  My professors showed me daily how to lead others in a way that is so contradictory to what society says.  Each and every single one of my professors had such a a deep walk with Christ, and it showed in everything they did.  How they taught, how they lead the conversations in class, their own families,…it was all a reflection of Christ.  When I’m in the classroom now, I constantly ask how I can lead like Christ….by serving.  What a great example my professors set for me as an educator.

It is my dream to one day provide an anonymous scholarship for a deserving individual just as I was given.  To give the opportunity to a college student to grow closer to Christ in knowledge and academics!  WOW!    Thank you, Dallas Baptist University, for all that you do to shape the future.

Leave a Reply

