The Dirty Thirty

Still not quite sure why people call it the “dirty thirty”, but I turned 30 regardless!
My students were sweethearts and sang to me (ALL DAY LONG!), I received beautiful flowers from my hubby at work, my parents sent me a pretty little ivy plant, a co-worker brought me a cookie cake, and many friends met up with us for dinner at the hibachi grill that we love!   What a day!    It was such a nice way to end the work week:  dinner and great friends.   It just reminded me of how faithful the Lord is.   He has provided me with a husband, a home, a job, friends, church family, and more.  Praising Him for all the blessings on this 1st day in my 30’s!

A year ago, I set about with a 30X30 bucket list.   Here is the updated version on what was accomplished:

  1. Go to Vegas with Robby – We are going next weekend to see George Strait!  Can’t wait!
  2. Do something spontaneous – learned to play golf!  May 2013
  3. Get pictures taken by the Texas A&M Barn – This didn’t happen, sadly.  Perhaps next football season!
  4. Go snow skiing with friends – Went to Aspen, CO in February 2013
  5. Learn to play tennis – Started lessons in March 2013.  Decided I’m not so good at it, but was fun!
  6. Take cooking classes – I can’t believe I didn’t do this!  I love to cook, how did this one slip by me?
  7. Lose 10 lbs – Actually, I lost 20!   Thank you, AdvoCare!
  8. Make a Baby Rigney (this one makes my hubby nervous, haha)  Didn’t happen, it can wait!
  9. Move into our 1st home – We got our 1st home in December 2013.
  10. Get a dog – Welcome to the family, Ranger!
  11. Invest more time with family  – Caught up with lots of family in February at my parents house, went with family to see our cousins in Footloose, Cousins’ Reunion in July, lots of family time in November and December.
  12. Take my mom on a trip – We went to Hughes Springs, TX.   Does that count?
  13. Go to NYC with Robby – Didn’t happen…..we went to Arkansas, Rockport, Colorado, all of Texas…..NYC another year.
  14. Grow a garden – Check!  I had tomatoes and herbs.  YAY!
  15. Buy a gun – Got my 1st gun on April 7th.
  16. Throw a dinner party for friends – BBQ’d with friends on April 9, 2013.  1st of many dinner parties to come.
  17. Make 3 new friends (or more!) CHECK!  So blessed with new friends in Midland!  Love my Bible Study ladies!
  18. Do one Random Act of Kindness each month – Donated Blood in Feb, Picked up trash in parking lot in March
  19. Take Yoga classes – Started yoga at Yoga Works Midland.  Namaste!
  20. Go wine tasting in the Hill Country – Didn’t get to go this year.
  21. Go horseback riding – Didn’t do this one either, waiting on a friend to let us know when he has a horse that he trusts.
  22. Start/Finish a new devotional book – “A Woman of Love” a study of the book of Ruth.  I HIGHLY recommend it!   Now working on Made to Crave
  23. Spend more time in prayer – Daily!  You betcha!
  24. Volunteer somewhere local – Permian Basin Rehab Center Telethon (March), Bountiful Baskets (May), Food to Kids, Kids in the Kitchen
  25. Scrap book my trip with Mom and Zachary to Disney (way back in 2009) – Still in a box somewhere in the new house…maybe this summer I can get to that.
  26. Sew something for my home – curtains!  Check!
  27. Make home-made gifts for friends – Made fruit jellies!  Yum!
  28. Learn 3 new classical piano pieces – nope, didn’t happen.  I had fun trying, though!
  29. See 3 musicals – Shrek the Musical (January), Footloose (February), and Wicked (March)
  30. Read 30 books! – Got 25 read, not too shabby I think.
  • School of Fear, by Gitty Daneshvari   SO CUTE!  My nephew read it (6th grade) and loved it.   A fun tween fiction.
  • Sparkly Green Earrings by Melanie Shankle – a MUST read for everyone.  Witty and heartfelt, you’ll love this book!
  • The Paris Wife by Paula McLain – heart strings will be pulled when you read about the crazy life of the Hemmingways in 1920′s Paris
  • The Three Martini Play Date – had me giggling and taking notes about what to expect when we have kids.  GREAT read for a new dad
  • Ghostopolis – comic book style, read this with a student in tutoring.  Good story line!!
  • Maine – this one took a while to get through, lots of family drama and history.  Easy to relate to, though
  • Missing Dad – LOVE this book!   Everyone should read it and pass it along to friends
  • The Lucky One – Nicholas Sparks did it again, sucked me in to a book and had me hooked!
  • Wonder – This Bluebonnet Book nominee won the heart of my students from the get go, as well as our staff.  It’s a MUST read!
  • Balloons on Broadway – The story of Tony Sarg and how we have balloons in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.  Caldecott worthy, the art in this book is beautiful!
  • Looking at Lincoln – Another Bluebonnet nominee, great book for all ages!
  • Coral Reefs – gorgeous art and facts about reefs that will hold your interest for a long time!
  • I’ll Be Seeing You – sweet story of pen pals through WWII, my mother passed this along to me.
  • Rich Dad, Poor Dad – grandfather encouraged me to read this, interesting…
  • Little Women – a classic that I can’t believe I haven’t read till now.   So good!  I just love Jo!
  • The Persian  Cinderella – Picked this up on a whim while my students were in the library, and I loved it!  Such a great story to teach cultural differences with!
  • A Woman of Love – Great Bible Study of Ruth
  • Ruth (in the Bible)
  • Against All Grain (Cook Book) – a Christmas gift that I LOVED looking at, the pictures are fantastic and I can use all the recipes with my food allergies/intolerance
  • The Great Gatsby – A classic that I could read over and over again!
  • It Starts with Food – Interesting research and suggestions on taking a deeper look into what we are putting into our bodies.
  • The Sensational Scent of Prayer – great read!
  • Married by Mistake – such a fun, light read!
  • Live Like A Narnian – of COURSE I had to include my brother-in-law’s book, eye-opening and inspiring to enjoy the good things the Lord has given us.  A MUST read!
  • Made to Crave – Just started this book with a friend, looking into why we crave food and how to fill that God-shaped hole in our lives with Him and not food!

Well, that’s it!  I completed well over half of my bucket list and 25 of 30 books!

I anticipate all the adventures that the Lord will lead me through in the next 30 years.  The past 30 have been a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

