Strawberry Jam

After looking over the Pioneer Woman’s website and blog post on making strawberry jam, I decided I was ready to do it on my own.

I made mine in 2 batches, but here’s the recipe for the whole bunch.  Divide in half if you are making a smaller batch.  Here’s how it went:

8 lbs. of strawberries  (Thanks, Bountiful Baskets!)

2014-03-01 21.14.03

hulled and mashed up.

2014-03-01 21.44.04

Add 10 tablespoons of old fashion pectin, 2 fresh lemons squeezed for the juice, and 4 tablespoons of vanilla.   **Don’t forget to add a a few pats of butter.  That really is the secret to keeping the goop off the top of the jam as it boils!   Bring to a rolling “violent” boil for 2 minutes.

2014-03-01 21.13.46

Add in 14 cups of sugar.  YES, I know!   14 cups (7 if your making half the recipe) is a RIDICULOUS about of sugar.  In retrospect, I could have cut it to 10 cups.  But, y’all!  Jam is sweet.  You can’t skimp on the sugar!  I thought this bag of sugar was just obnoxious, until I used half of it and realized that it was a good thing I bought such a big bag.  Yikes!

2014-03-01 21.13.55

Bring the jam back to that violent boil for 2 more minutes, stirring occasionally.  Let cool for a bit and skim off any goop stuff from the top.

Prepare your jars according to direction and seal!    I just love that popping symphony that occurs once all the jars are done.  The fantastic pot my grandmother left to me is the greatest thing for boiling and preserving.

2014-03-01 21.14.28

Label and there you go!

2014-03-02 10.59.37

I think the vanilla adds a nice flavor to it all, though next time I want to use more lemons and a vanilla bean for better flavoring.

If you have any questions or suggestions, please let me know!

Leave a Reply

